Posted on

‘Book of Mormon’ Breaks Box Office Records on the Road, Too

Originally posted on Variety:

“The Book of Mormon,” which has made a habit of breaking box office records on Broadway, has claimed a major title on the road, too: The production’s national tour has logged the highest one-week gross ever for a national tour.

“Mormon” (pictured above in its Broadway incarnation) pulled in $2,802,606 at the 4,678-seat Fox Theater in Atlanta for the week ending Feb. 9. Fellow Rialto juggernaut “Wicked” previously held the record at $2,755,070 for a single week at the 4,500-seat Fabulous Fox Theater in St. Louis.

The hottest musical property to come out of Broadway in several years, “Mormon” has set house records at 27 theaters around the country, and broken the house record at New York’s Eugene O’Neill Theater some 50 times. Along with Tonys wins and critical raves, the show’s ongoing popularity is also fueled by the fanbase of creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, who’ve earned a significant…

View original 150 more words

About Kath Walker

My name's Kath and I'm a film student at Regents College in London! Since I was small I've loved film. I'd always be watching movies, recording things on my Dad's Camcorder and going to the Cinema! The first Cinema I remember going to was a massive, 12 screen Warner Bros. one on the outskirts of my hometown and it quickly became my favourite (It had nothing to do with the HUGE Pick 'n' Mix, I swear... >_>)! Growing up I was watching "James Bond" and Clint Eastwood Wild West films with my Dad and my Mum and I would do the Time Warp from "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" constantly!! What made me want to work in the industry was actually the soundtrack to "August Rush". I am influenced by directors and such, but my other great passion is listening to music - and a soundtrack has the power to make or break a film! But hey, I'll see what happens... Twitter - https://twitter.com/PutUrHandsUp09

Leave a Reply

